best answer > Is it let or net?- QuesHub | Better Than Quora
The most authoritative answer in 2024
  • Isabella Martinez——Studied at Yale University, Lives in New Haven. Currently working as a journalist for a major news outlet.

    As an expert in the field of sports, particularly tennis, I can provide a detailed explanation on the difference between a "let" and a "net" in the context of tennis serves.
    In tennis, a serve is a shot to start a point and place the ball into the diagonally opposite service box. The server gets two chances to make a good serve – if the serve is not successful on the first try, it's called a "fault," and the server gets a second try. However, there's a special scenario that can occur during a serve that is neither a fault nor a successful serve, and that's called a "let."
    Let: A serve that hits the net cord (the top of the net) but still lands in the correct service box is called a "let." When a let occurs, the server is not penalized, and the point is not counted. The server is allowed to repeat the serve without any negative consequences. This rule is in place to account for the unpredictability of the ball's bounce after hitting the net cord, which can sometimes still result in a serve that would have been good had the net not been in the way.

    On the other hand, if a serve hits the net cord and then lands outside the service box, it is considered a fault. This is because the serve has not met the necessary conditions to be considered a legal serve – it must land within the designated service area.

    It's important to note that a let is only applicable during the serve. If during a rally (after the serve) the ball hits the net and continues into the opponent's court, it is still considered a legal play and the point continues, unless the ball touches the net twice, in which case it would be a fault.

    Understanding the rules of tennis, including the nuances of a let and a fault, is crucial for both players and spectators to fully appreciate the game. It's these small details that can make a big difference in the outcome of a match.

    read more >>
    +149932024-05-26 07:45:05
  • Oliver Anderson——Works at the International Criminal Court, Lives in The Hague, Netherlands.

    Let -C a serve is called a let when the ball hits the net cord but still lands in the service court. Such a serve is not considered a fault and the server may repeat the service attempt. A ball that hits the net cord but lands outside the service box is still a fault.read more >>
    +119962023-06-17 20:31:08

About “落在、故障、可能会”,people ask:

READ MORE:

QuesHub is a place where questions meet answers, it is more authentic than Quora, but you still need to discern the answers provided by the respondents.

分享到

取消